The T-Shirt Story #8 The Journey Back

Read part #1 Introduction here | Read part #7 Separation here

When I broke out of my unconsciousness of almost three hours, I realized I was in the same Mumbai Forever 21 store from which I was bought on 15th January, 2016 by Rehan. Adya had decided to donate me back to the store for 15% off on her next purchase. I didn’t feel bad. In fact, I didn’t feel anything. Somewhere deep within, I was ready to face the next hardship of my journey.

Three days after getting dropped in the collection box (for recycling), I was transported to a sorting facility in Panipat, Haryana (Asia’s biggest textile recycling hub), where I was hand sorted into a category of best intended use. It wasn’t quite clear but it seemed to me that my recovered fibres would be used to build bathroom doormats.

While staying with Adya for 1.5 years, I learnt that humans believe in re-births and also consider birth in human form as the most privileged one. Religion mandates a human to mind his/ her karma so as to be eligible for human form rebirth. As a plain grey t-shirt, I had no religion to follow and no specific choice of form. I was manufactured, used and now going to be recycled.

Signing off! Drape you (in some other form) later!

Read more posts on this blog..

 

One comment

Leave a comment